Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
rrhode  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 2, 2011 4:45:56 PM(UTC)
rrhode

I have been using Linux for a few years now. I don't think of any applications I miss from when I used to use windows other than ManicTime. I miss it every single day.

The best thing I can find for Linux (Hamster) simply does not come close to ManicTime. I just had to come here and let you know how awesome this thing is in comparison. I stopped using it just before it got a Pro version I think, but I haven't stopped wishing it worked on Linux. I know you don't have any plans to make a Linux or Mac version any time soon and it would be a lot of work. But I just wanted to say I miss you ManicTime! You rock!
admin  
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 3, 2011 9:49:17 AM(UTC)
admin

Its amazing that it had such an impact on you. I hope it is not just romanticizing the past syndrome :).

If I remember correctly you had a lot of problems with Vista and you decided to just go with Linux. Other than the lack of MT, how is Linux working out?

I hope we get to the Linux version at some point. When we do I promise you will be the first one to find out.
rrhode  
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 3, 2011 5:07:05 PM(UTC)
rrhode

Yes you are right, good memory! I did not like Vista too much. I think its probably a bit better these days but it's still windows.

It had such an impact because being able to just start working and not having to worry about starting my timer or stopping it or even worrying about what I was working on or for who I was working for was just awesome. Being able to come back later and tagging things... it's perfect! There is nothing better. At least not that I can find anyway and I did look for quite some time. Once I got so used to using ManicTime and then not having it nearly makes me want to start using windows again.