Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
JulesBo  
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 3:52:02 AM(UTC)
JulesBo

Hi, I've been using MT only for a month, and just purchased Pro after the trial. I've been a consultant for over 15 years, and have always been HORRIBLE about tracking my time, so I'm fairly excited to see what MT can do for me.

Can I autotag by the folder location of the file I'm working on? For example, I keep each customer's work in folders like so:
My Documents/Clients/BusinessX
My Documents/Clients/JoesPlumbing
My Documents/Clients/WidgetsInc

It would be brilliant, if I could setup an autotag rule for each folder.

In many cases, MT gives the full path and name of the file in the Title field--if it did this consistently, autotagging (for me) would be a snap. But unfortunately in many cases it gives only the filename in the Title field. Sometimes it just shows "Microsoft Excel" which may mean that I just have Excel open but no file...but it's pretty rare that I'd do that for an extended period of time.
JulesBo attached the following image(s):
Manic.JPG (72kb) downloaded 11 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
admin  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 1:08:46 PM(UTC)
admin

Sorry, I completely forgot to reply.

Yes, this will be much easier in the coming version. So what you do is:
Right click on the same part as on the image, but on the Documents timeline, not applications. Choose Add to autotag.

You should see something like
Find group
- some document you work on
- any group

Choose Any group and then check And title contains and delete it so that only folder remains.

For example lets say that in the field you have
c:\some folder\client1\somefile.xls

Edit it so it looks like
c:\some folder\client1\

What this will do is look for any document which has a path
c:\some folder\client1\
and it will apply it to the autotag.