Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Javilop  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 2:21:42 AM(UTC)
Javilop

I'm a computer engineering student from Spain and I have a technical question:

How do you obtain the urls the user is visiting? Do you use any kind of packet sniffing?

I've seen that you have specific plugins for opera, iexplorer, firefox, chrome and safari... so maybe you are using something else?

Thank you in advance!
Regards,

Javier
admin  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 10:01:25 AM(UTC)
admin

We are using a method similar to this
http://delphi.about.com/od/windowsshellapi/l/aa060303b.htm

This works only on IE, but it is similar for other browsers.

Packet sniffer is great because it works on all browsers, so no need to write it specifically for one browser. The problem is that it is not accurate enough for the way we display things. For example if I search for something on google and open 10 results in new tab, by the time I will move to the next tab to view one of the results everything will finish downloading. So if I later flick through tabs with results I have no way of knowing where I am.
If you are not looking for extreme accuracy I would say packet sniffing is the way to go. It will not only work for all browsers, but also for all versions of the browser. For example method above probably works for IE8, but you have no guarantee it will work for IE9 or IE10.

If you want the accuracy then you need to use some other method, maybe a browser extension or the one mentioned in the article.
Javilop  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 12:53:02 PM(UTC)
Javilop

Thank you for the quick answer.

I thought that making an url logger was going to be easier!

I'm currently using a packet sniffer. The problem is the one you mentioned above (first problem)