Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Cthulhu  
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:47:50 AM(UTC)
Cthulhu

I wasn't able to determine whether this was reported before, but anyways. I'm experiencing heavy lagging of the UI in version 1.3.12, where the mouse pointer just stalls and the whole thing is generally unresponsive or just slow. It works, but only barely. This sluggishness goes away if I keep the GUI on for a few minutes.

I don't think it's my computer - the Task Manager reports very low CPU usage when the GUI is open and the choppyness effect takes hold.

I'm no expert, but it seems the UI thread is directly affecting the input thread (if that makes any sense). Possibly fancy effects problem.

Speaking of fancy effects, the slight blurring in of tooltips when hovering the cursor over it occasionally takes too long to finish, making my eyes think they need glasses. This might be related to the general UI sluggishness I'm experiencing. Would it be possible to make that effect an option that can be turned off?
admin  
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 2:42:53 PM(UTC)
admin

First idea would be to try updating the display drivers, WPF is hardware accelerated so the latest drivers could help. If it doesn't help, try running MT with 'ManicTime /nohw'. This will run MT without hardware acceleration, let me know how this works out.

The blurry text you mention comes from Microsoft WPF technology and there is nothing you or we can do about it. I remember the effect you are describing from XP, but I can't see it any more on Win7. I guess it just renders it blurred at first to show something, then on the second pass it sharpens it. So the only thing we can do is figure out why it is so slow on your system.

Let me know if drivers or nohw option help.
Cthulhu  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:53:53 PM(UTC)
Cthulhu